Sun Home Equinox 3
Score
- Full-spectrum infrared
- 3 seats
- Up to 165°F
- 120V / 20A outlet
Plunge Infrared Sauna (Standard)
Score
- Far-IR + full-spectrum
- Up to 160°F
- 120V / 20A outlet
- 5-yr cabinet & heaters
On this page
If you want an indoor infrared sauna without running a 240-volt line, these are two of the most direct competitors. Both use far-infrared plus full-spectrum heating, and both specify a dedicated 20-amp circuit with a NEMA 5-20 outlet. Both cost about $7,000 at current prices. The differences come down to seats, heat, footprint, delivery and warranty.
Side-by-side specs
| Spec | Sun Home Equinox 3 | Plunge Infrared Sauna (Standard) |
|---|---|---|
| Price (Oct 9, 2026) | $6,999 (regular $7,699) | $7,190 sale (comp. value $7,690) |
| Heating | 5 far-infrared + 2 full-spectrum heaters; 0–100% intensity per heater | Far-infrared panels + full-spectrum incandescent towers |
| Max temperature | 165°F | 160°F (Pro model: 175°F) |
| Seats | 3 (57" bench) | Not stated for Standard; Plunge’s chart says infrared “up to 3 people” |
| Electrical | Dedicated 120V, 20A circuit with GFCI protection; NEMA 5-20; 10-ft cord | Dedicated 120V, 20A circuit; NEMA 5-20 (Pro needs 240V) |
| Exterior size | 62.3" W × 45.9" D × 77.7" H | 53⅛" W × 55¹⁄₁₆" D × 79" H |
| Interior | Not captured | 50½" W × 45¹³⁄₁₆" D × 73⅜" H |
| Weight | 642 lbs | ~540 lbs |
| Wood | Kiln-dried eucalyptus | Clear Canadian hemlock |
| EMF (brand claim) | <0.5 mG “ultra-low EMF” | “Near-zero EMF” |
| Assembly | Magne-Seal panels, no special tools | Tongue-and-groove; about 1 hour with two people |
| Red light option | Not compatible | Red-light panel available on Pro only |
| Delivery | Free shipping | $250 standard curbside in core zones; extra fees farther out |
| Warranty | 7 years | 5 yr cabinetry & heaters; 2 yr electronics/controls; 1 yr glass & power supplies |
| App | Bluetooth audio and chromotherapy (app not specified for Equinox) | Plunge app: set temperature, start and schedule sessions |
All values from each brand’s product page on Oct 9, 2026; see sources below. EMF figures are the brands’ own claims, not something we measured.
Where they really differ
Footprint: wide vs deep
The Equinox 3 is wider (62.3" vs 53⅛") but shallower (45.9" vs 55¹⁄₁₆"). In a narrow room or closet nook, the Plunge’s narrower width may fit better. Along a long wall, the Equinox’s shallower depth leaves more walkway. Also remember the Plunge needs 26.5" in front for the door to open fully. Sun Home suggests a 7 × 6 ft room with an 8 ft ceiling for either Equinox size.
Heat
On paper the Equinox runs 5°F hotter at maximum. Plunge’s answer is the Infrared Sauna Pro (175°F), but the Pro moves you to 240V, which removes the main reason to choose either of these two.
Total cost to your door
At the prices we saw, the Equinox 3 is $191 cheaper before delivery ($7,190 − $6,999). Add Plunge’s $250 standard curbside delivery fee in core zones and the gap is about $441. Sale prices at both brands change often, so recheck both on the same day.
Warranty structure
Sun Home lists a single 7-year warranty. Plunge splits coverage by component: 5 years on cabinetry and heaters, but 2 years on electronics and 1 year on glass and power supplies. Plunge sells 2 extra years through Extend. If long-term electronics coverage matters to you, read both warranty documents in full.
Our take
For a buyer whose main goal is “good infrared sauna on a normal circuit,” the Equinox 3 comes out ahead on the published numbers: confirmed three seats, higher max temperature, longer warranty, free shipping and a lower current price. The Plunge is the better choice if its footprint fits your room better, if you already own a Plunge cold plunge and want one app for both, or if you might upgrade to the Pro later.
See Sun Home Equinox 3 (paid link) · See Plunge Infrared Sauna (paid link)
Comparing more options? See the best home saunas under $8,000.
- Sources (accessed Oct 9, 2026):
- Sun Home Equinox 3 product page: https://sunhomesaunas.com/products/sun-home-equinox-3-person-full-spectrum-bestinfrared-sauna
- Plunge Infrared Sauna product page (incl. FAQ on Standard vs Pro and traditional-vs-infrared chart): https://plunge.com/products/the-infrared-sauna